The President’s Cup Tennis in Hobart – 21 & 22 August 2010

A strong RMTC team visited Hobart for the annual President’s Cup handicap singles and doubles tournament between the two Clubs. While Hobart put a large number of players on court, strength in numbers was no match for the experience of the Melbourne team.

The Melbourne playing contingent was Iain Buchanan, Annabelle Guest, Owen Guest, Evelyn Howard, Jeremy Howard, Tim Hurburgh, Richard Simpson, Richard Travers, Henry Turnbull and Paul Wheeler.

The Hobart players were, David Askey-Doran, Bill Ayliffe, Ron Booth, Graeme Blundstone, Graeme Bradfield, Kate Brown, Ray Brown, Alistair Curley, Paul Dunne, Angus Flett, Graeme Holloway, Andrew Kemp, Greg Kerin, Johnson Koay, Brian Maxwell, David Parham, Cas Pitt, Jeremy Rackham, Alastair Ramsay, Eryl Raymond, Mark Reardon, Ian Ritchard, Nick Rooke, and Michael Short.

17 matches were played over Saturday and Sunday morning with RMTC winning back the President’s Cup, 11 matches to 6.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s